Understanding China: China Since the Death of Deng Xiao Ping (1904-1997)

 ,   Add to calendar
 Scarsdale  See map

Four periods help define Chinese history: traditional China, China during the nineteenth century (known, to the Chinese, as the century of shame), China in its early modernization under Mao, and China since Deng Xiao Ping.  This lecture series focuses on the most recent period and addresses the following:  After the “reform and opening” under Deng's leadership, what has China tried to do, what has it accomplished, and what is China’s place in the current world history, culture, and political landscape?


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »